PDA

View Full Version : indian roller

Jitendra Katre
24-04-2011, 08:31 AM
canon 550d,tamron 200-500,f/9, 1/125,iso-400

Abhishek Jamalabad
24-04-2011, 08:59 AM
Nice eye contact. The lighting would have been better with the sun behind you (of course you cant do anything about that). Wish the OOF branches were absent. It looks a little oversharpened to me.
TFS

Dr. Kalpamoi Kakati
24-04-2011, 09:54 AM
This seems to be a good lens.I have seen few images of you by this lens before.It has given almost professional quality image.How good is the AF and how good is this for Handholding? TFS

Jitendra Katre
24-04-2011, 12:43 PM
thanks friends...
Dr.Kakati- i have been using this lens for about two years. it works best from aperture f/8 to f/14 (even at f/6.3 it is not bad), focusing speed is not impressive,from 450mm onwards fringing becomes a issue ,but up to 450mm it's very good.can be used handheld (nowadays i prefer not to use any lens without support). despite it's limitations i love this lens.i also posses canon 400mm prime, but somehow i find myself using tamron more..

Shreeram M.V
25-04-2011, 07:56 AM
Good one Dr.Jitendra! Nice light and eye contact.

The image, however, appears a bit grainy possibly due to ISO 400. How much of a crop is this? Just curious, but couldn't you have used ISO 200 and f/6.3 or f/7.1? It also appears to be mildly overexposed; did you do any exposure correction when you processed? Also, I see a faint pink tinge in the picture.

Jitendra Katre
25-04-2011, 08:27 AM
thanks Shreeram M.V.,..as i said the lens works best at f/8 and above, the light was pretty low, therefore iso400 was must, apart from this some noise may have crept in while sharpening.. i think slightly overexposed branch made you think about overexposure, but i had metered for the bird which i think has come out well. i cannot really comment on the pink tinge because my monitor doesn't show it.....thanks for the time spent to evaluate this image...

Sabyasachi Patra