PDA

View Full Version : Canon 300mm f4 + 1.4X for birding?

Sujay Borde
09-06-2011, 01:46 AM
Hello all,
I have been using a point and shoot digicam for almost 3 years and now want to shift to DSLR.I have sorted out Canon 60D and 300mmf4 + 1.4X lll TE.
I'll mostly be doing Bird photography.I also had 400mm f5.6 in my mind but the 300mm f4 is also great for Macro, and the 300+ 1.4TE will give me more flexibility as well.
So, my main concern here is whether the 300+1.4X fast enough for birding and to what degree the sharpness might get degraded?:confused1:
I dont want to buy 100-400L, because i tried it and did not like the push pull mechanism.
So shall i go for this combo?

Regards
Sujay Borde

Bibhav Behera
09-06-2011, 05:11 PM
THe 300 f/4 + 1.4x combo is a good combo and one gets pretty good results. Of course the AF speed will be slower than that of a 400 f/5.6 but u can never be thankful enough for IS. hence I had even made my decision based on this. It is a lovely piece of glass. but please note that prices have now risen post the Japan catastrophe.

Sabyasachi Patra
09-06-2011, 08:21 PM
Sujay,
The 300mm f4 L IS USM lens is a pretty sharp lens. I had used it for many years. It works well with a 1.4X TC. I haven't used it with a 1.4x III TC. It used to work well with a 1.4xII TC. I am not sure if the results will be better with a 1.4x III TC than the 1.4xII TC.

If you use the 1.4x III TC, then one benefit is that it has fluorine coating so that dust doesn't stick the way it used to earlier. That will help in avoiding flare and as a result will give you better sharpness.

A word of caution. For bird photography no lens is enough. You need lot of field craft ie. crawling on the field, and patience to move close to birds. Using a hide also helps. For large birds like Pelicans in flight peacock displaying etc would be easier to capture than small birds.