View Full Version : extension tubes

Uma Kathyayini
12-10-2011, 11:23 AM
Dear all,

I have a basic question-
I have canon eos 1000d camera with basic
18-55mm lens and 55 - 250 mm telephoto zoom lens. With 250mm I found
it difficult to shoot distant objects. I learnt that extension tubes
cannot be added to this lens. Since i am a hobbyist and infant in this field, I would like to make use of the basic equipments without going in for highend products.
Retailing the basic camera, what other options I have, to extend the focal length. Kindly throw me light on this :confused:

Sabyasachi Patra
12-10-2011, 02:02 PM
Dear Uma,
It was nice interacting with you during the screening.

What is your budget?

I suggest that you retain the camera and buy a good lens. The Canon EF 400mm f5.6 L USM lens is a good lens. It costs about 1300 USD in USA and in India should be costing around 60K. I have to check the latest prices in India.

The Canon 300mm F4 L IS USM is also a good lens and it works well with the TC. However, the cost is slightly higher than the 400mm f5.6 L USM lens at 1380 USD. India price hovers around 70-75k.

The Canon EF 100-400 f3.5-5.6 L IS USM lens costs about 1700 USD in USA and in India costs nearly a lakh.

The prices have increased a lot since the Tsunami in Japan. Despite improvement in the situation, the prices have remained the same.

If you want to compromise on quality, then you can go for third party lenses like the Sigma. One can go for the Sigma 150-500 lens which would be about 10-12k INR cheaper than the Canon 400mm f5.6 L USM lens. However, the huge difference in quality.

I normally advice people to buy less, but the best quality. These Canon L series lenses will last a life time and if at any point of time you want to sell, then they wont depreciate much. You can always find buyers easily.

Sabyasachi

Saktipada Panigrahi
13-10-2011, 10:42 AM
Shri Sabyasachi,