PDA

View Full Version : My first try on PP

Harshad Barve
02-05-2009, 09:32 AM
Hi folks

This is my first try in PP, earliesr all of my images were processed by my dear friends ( Kiarn/Mital)

Would love to see comments on PP job

I would request PP masters to post a tread in which they can give workflow for back benchers like me

Taken at Rajbehara

Nikon D300
Nikon 600MM Tele
ISO 200

C & C welcome

Harshad

Sabyasachi Patra
02-05-2009, 10:37 AM
Harshad,
Post processing is much easily acquired than photographic skills. You are very nearly there. Just a little bit of changes I have made in the repost along with the justifications. You will only get better and better with practice.

The twigs on the top right are overexposed and have lost details. That is bound to happen, as you have exposed for the tiger which is in the shade. The best thing is to compose with similar tonalities. Our cameras don't have dynamic range to cover completely dark and very bright objects in one frame. So reducing the bright areas at the top and increasing a bit more at the bottom would have helped. During processing I recovered the details in the bright areas. Remember, a little bit of overexposure i.e. if only a small part of the histogram touches the extreme right bar, then it can be recovered. If time permits then please check the histogram on the field to see if the exposure is right.

Also, I increased the fill light by just a few points.

To know whether the image is oversaturated or not, just look at the tongue. The tongue appears a bit more pink. Try to move the saturation slider a bit more and you find the tongue appearing unnatural red. You find such images floating around in the net a lot. Also, you can see that the greens (look at the grass) appears a lot greener. So I reduced it just a bit during post processing.

In the levels I reduced the bright highlights a bit and then opened up the shadow areas and the dark areas, just a little bit.